Writing- Emotionally

Standard

Yesterday, I sat down at my computer and wrote. I have been doing this on and off for years. My blog is not an accurate representation of how much I write because honestly I find I am not the blogging sort. Well, I am in spurts but I like to only blog when I feel called to and not as a mandatory thing. Anyways, back to my original point.

I was writing yesterday. Sitting at my computer, typing away at a very emotional scene. It was not so much emotional on paper as it was within my own being. I wanted to cry, I wanted to break down and stop writing but I continued forth, and proudly without a tear draining from my eye. I write very much from experiences, from my own emotions and from what is in my life (with of course twists and fantasy flair.) I take inspiration from the pain, the happiness, the sadness, the love. From it all. Sometimes this causes me to fear writing. Fear making me face reality and the imaginary. Fear of making me deal with things I do not what to deal with. This has caused me to take breaks from writing. Longer than I wish to admit and shorter than sometimes warrants to push those emotions and personal issues aside.

By no means do I have a bad life. Quiet the opposite. I have a wonderful life and I love almost every moment of it but there are always things in people’s lives that haunt them, no matter how peaceful and happy their life might be. I take this and I use it. I think a lot of writers do, or should. I feel as that emotional connection with their writings, their worlds, and what is in side them makes stories more believable, more sincere. I might not have the best grammar, or spelling, or writing technique, but those are all things I can work to improve on everyday. The emotional content of writing; that I feel as though that is really something you cannot learn. Something that sparks a writer to write. Not to create world, yes that is part of it, but to explore their own self. To find themselves through these worlds and deal with issues that somethings they just cannot deal with in real life. Sometimes problems are imaginary, sometimes problems are real but that doesn’t mean that they cannot be worked out on paper (or a computer screen as it might be)

This my emotional rant for today. My way of expressing what writing is to me. I see so many quotes of I write because like breathing I cannot live without it (paraphrasing) and I think that is true. At least it is for some of us. I write because I have to and because I love to.

Leave a Reply

