Blogging, Is It Really That Important?

Standard

I know I have been beyond neglecting my blog for a long while, and especially as an aspiring author there is really no excuse for it. I could give a million and one excuses about why I have not been writing or why my life is so busy but honestly it is because I have not been feeling inspired to write any blog posts. When I come here, daily I will tell you, I sit here with my fingers at my key board and nothing comes. I type up a few sentences and then the backspace button becomes my best friend. It is like the blog that I used strive to at least update with creative mementos is now slowly dying inside of me.

And is a blog really that important in the publishing world? To become that published author as you have always dreamed. For my dying inspiration unfortunately yes.  It is seeming like more and more you need more and more to keep your readers and future employers entertained by your prowess and writing abilities. They want to see the ambition to keep your blog updated weekly if not daily, they want to see a twitter feed based on you where you voice your personality so fans can relate to you more easily. I know I personally want all of these things from my favorite authors. Have I too become more greedy of the authors I love but do not put myself to the same standards of effort and work? The answer is simply no. The blog shows the true answer of it which of course would be no. Not at all.

Of course I will continue to try to strive to push myself to think of the next new blog to write on here. Some nice witty advice I learned from my struggles or maybe even post some of my creative stories again. Little short blurbs that pop into my head and drive me crazy while working other stories and cannot possibly fit it in to what I am working on.

So many thoughts and so many ways to do a blog sometimes it boggles my mind, especially since I am relatively new to blogging itself. Maybe these are just new bloggers fears and syndromes and I will get in the habit of writing a new blog maybe everyday. Who knows? So far I think only time will tell.

Well off until next time!

7 responses »

  1. Hey. I really get what you’re feeling here. I joined twitter/started a blog very recently because it seemed like that was what I was supposed to do if I ever wanted to be a published author. Everyone talks about a writer’s “platform” and sometimes I wonder how real this is. I mean, twitter and all that is still relatively new, right? So how can it have become so important so fast? But, I think it is that important as far as networking goes. It’s like the new word of mouth, only world-wide and much, much faster.

    Keep up with the blog. Just write anything, whatever. As long as you get something out. Of course, this advice isn’t coming from anyone special. But I look forward to reading more of what you have to say. 🙂

    • Thank you so much for stopping by and for your comment! I completely agree with Twitter taking off so fast! It seemed to come out of no-where and all of a sudden it is the thing you need if you want to go anywhere!

      Thank you for the words also of motivation. I am definitely going to put it on my list of things to do more often to try to get more creative juices flowing. Have a wonderful day!

  2. Do what you need to do when you need to do it. I find my real work to be the meat and potatoes, so to speak. My blog and twitter are just small, sweet morsels of writing. There good, but the best stuff is in the main product. Just the way I see it.

    • Thank you for stopping by and your comment! I do see the novel I am writing to be more of the importance in which I have been focusing a lot of my time but I see so many other writers doing a blog and twitter and writing so many more words than me and I guess I get a little overwhelmed by their progress. Thank you for your thoughts! Different views are always appreciated! Have a marvelous day!

  3. I know how you feel on this. I go through spurts with my blog as well. I never even get into my dashboard though until I have something to post. I have a file that I keep on my computer that has the all the posts I’ve done, with the posting dates, at the bottom of the file. Then, at the top of the file, I have all my works in progress. Some blog posts just need a title or a little more work, but many of them are only a ghost of an idea that may never become a post. But they’re all there, just in case I can expand on one of them someday.

    • Thank you for stopping by and commenting! I just had to go through my drafts on my dashboard the other day because it had like ten things on it. So many of them like you said are ghost ideas that I could not finish, but some of them I might expand on later. I am so glad someone else has the same “problem” as I do.

      Again thank you so much for stopping by! Have a terrific day!

  4. Don’t feel too bad–It happens to the best of us! I’ve just gotten back into maintaining my blog myself, after neglecting it for what seems like the whole month of September. Like you, I just could not pull together a decent post each time I tried, and the number of half-finished drafts just piled up like autumn leaves on the back porch. I decided to take a little break until my creativity returned–so I spent time with some of my other hobbies. It worked like magic! Since the beginning of October, I’ve been on a roll, bringing the dying blog back to life. So don’t give up. Just post whatever comes to mind (you never know what gets people excited these days!) and if nothing comes, then just don’t post that day. At least no one will think you have nothing to do besides blogging. 🙂
    (By the way, this is a pretty great post–thanks for it 🙂 ).

Leave a Reply

